Australia General Skilled Migration (GSM) Visa in Perth, WA – Emaus Migration

The general skilled migration visa for Australia helps professionals who possess the required skills to live and work in Australia permanently. This visa helps qualified and experienced migrants to fill the skill storage in Australia and benefit its economy while enjoying a high standard of living and great work opportunities in one of the world’s most advanced nations. Wondering how to get a skilled visa for Australia? Applying and obtaining the coveted Australian skilled immigration visa is a two-step process:

The first step of the general skilled migration visa is the submission of an EOI or expression of interest and the second step is the actual visa application. All applicants in this category are required to go through a skill test that evaluates their skill score in the profession or trade listed in the Australian skills list. This skill list is made and updated based on the skill shortage in the country.

The second step is the visa application. You can apply as a skilled migrant based on your score on the skill test.

Other important parameters that influence the result of the application besides the test score is proficiency in the trade or profession and competency in the English language.

Australian General Migration Visas Issued Under This Category:

Skilled Nominated Visa - subclass 190: The Skilled Nominated Visa Subclass 190 is a permanent visa category for skilled workers who are nominated by the Australian or a state or territory government. This visa allows you to stay, work, and study in Australia permanently.

To be eligible for this category of visa, you must hold an occupation present in the Skilled Occupation List and should be able to clear the skill assessment for the relevant occupation. You should also have at least Competent skills in the English language.

Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa (Subclass 491): This visa category has replaced Subclass 489, which is not open to any new visa applications since November 2019. This visa allows you to stay up to 4 years in a designated or regional territory of Australia. This visa allows multiple entries and exits from Australia until the validity of the visa. You can later apply for a Permanent Skilled Regional visa Subclass 887, if eligible. You can also include your partner and dependent children in your visa application. You may also qualify for Australian citizenship in due course.

Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189): One of the most sought after and coveted visa categories, Skilled Independent Visa Subclass 189 allows you to live, work, and study in Australia permanently. You do not require the sponsorship of an employer, relative, state, or regional government for this visa category. You also have the freedom to live and work in any city or area of Australia and not a specific region. The points table for a Skilled Independent Visa is based on different parameters and you need to score at least 65 points in the same. To apply for this visa, your occupation should be on the Medium and Long-Term Strategic Skill List (MLTSSL).

Temporary Business Long Stay Work Visa - subclass 457: One of the popular categories of general skilled migration visa types, the subclass 457 visa allows the applicant to stay up to 4 years in Australia. This visa category needs to be sponsored by a lawfully operating business. This category of visa has now been replaced by the subclass 482 Temporary Skill Shortage (TSS) visa.

Employer Nomination Scheme Visa (Subclass 186): This is a permanent visa category that allows businesses to hire foreign workers who can live and work in Australia permanently. The business must be able to show a genuine need for a foreign skilled worker with a shortage of the required skill set in the Australian labour market.

What are Skilled Migration Visa Requirements?

These are the various visa requirement to apply for a general skilled migration visa for Australia:
  • Your age should be under 45 years.
  • You should obtain a score of at least 65 points.
  • You should be competent in the English language.
  • You should meet the character and medical requirements.
  • You should have at least competent English by taking one of the eligible English tests

Australia Skilled Migration Visa Fee

These are fees for applying for an Australia skilled immigration Visa:
  • Main applicant: AUD 4,115
  • Spouse fee: AUD 2,055
  • Dependent child fee: AUD 1,030

Please note that these fees are subject to change or modification. Do check with the Australian Department of Home Affairs website or your visa assistance agent for the latest fees. In addition to the fees applicable for visa applicants, there is also a fee for character clearance or police check and medical examination.

Why Choose Us for Australian General Skilled Migration Visa in Perth?

Considering applying for an Australia skilled immigration application in Perth? Trust the experienced visa & immigration consultancy in Perth, WA to assist you in applying for the right category of visa as per your eligibility.

As a registered migration agent with several years of experience, we provide you with unmatched services and have the highest success rates. Emaus Migration is a MARA registered visa consultant in Perth, WA that provides you with:
  • Comprehensive visa and immigration services
  • Licensed and skilled agents
  • Personalised assistance
  • Fair pricing
  • Liaison with immigration authorities
  • Honest advice
  • Fast turnaround time

For discussion or queries and free assessment, you can contact us at emausmigration@gmail.com. You can also call us on 0424 437 251 or 61 424 437 251 (from overseas) for any assistance.